Contacts

Find contact details of those involved in safeguarding children in Greater Manchester
Review Chairs and Authors

You can view the list of reviewers and authors (Xls, 67kb). If you wish to be included on the list, please complete the Review Chair/Author Details Form (Doc 67kb) and email it to us. Please complete this form if you are on the list and your details have changed.

Child Death Overview Panel

Greater Manchester has four Child Death Overview Panels for reviewing all child deaths. For more information, view the Child Death Overview Panels page.

Bolton, Salford and Wigan Panel Chair: Mick Lay – Panel Manager and SPOC: Janet Neary. To get in touch, you can email us or telephone on: 01204 337 459.

Bury, Rochdale and Oldham Panel Chair: Jon Hobday. To get in touch, you can email us or you can via the secured email or telephone on: 0161 770 8087.

Manchester Panel Chair: Barry Gillespie – Panel Manager and SPOC: Moira Fahy. To get in touch, you can email us or telephone on: 0161 234 1537.

Stockport, Tameside and Trafford Panel Chair: Mick Lay – Panel Manager and SPOC: Shelley Birch. To get in touch, you can email us or telephone us on: 0161 342 4323.

Greater Manchester Police Public Protection Investigation Units

Police Public Protection Investigation Units deal with child protection, domestic abuse and safeguarding vulnerable adults. They are centrally managed by the Public Protection Division led by DCS Vanessa Jardine.

Bolton K Division

Bury N Division

Manchester Central E Division – Wythenshawe

Manchester E Division – Longsight

Manchester North A Division

Oldham Q Division

Rochdale P Division

Salford F Division

Stockport J Division

Tameside G Division

Trafford M Division

Wigan L Division

Greater Manchester Police Missing Person's Team
Missing persons are managed in Greater Manchester Police Divisions by six Missing Persons Safeguarding Officers, covering three regions. The Central Region covers Manchester (North, Met and South) and Salford. PC Joanna McDermott and PC Paul Wilson. Swinton Police Station – 0161 856 2216 and 0161 856 7693. The Eastern Region covers Oldham, Rochdale, Tameside and Stockport. PC Martin Hilditch and PC Dale Woodcock. Oldham Police Station – 0161 857 8901 and 0161 856 8538. The Western Region covers Trafford, Wigan, Bolton and Bury. PC Sue Wallace. Astley Bridge Police Station – 0161 856 1539 and 0161 856 5590. GMP Force Missing Persons Strategic Lead Det. Supt. TBC. Public Protection Division, Nexus House. GMP Force Missing Persons Team Manager Civ John Barnes Public Protection Division, Nexus House – 0161 856 2234. GMP Missing Persons Safeguarding Officers at HQ Civ Julie Potts and PC Ted Lacey GMP Missing Persons Team, Specialist Protective Services/Public Protection Division, Nexus House. HMP HQT: 0161 856 8499 and 0161 856 5590.
LSCB Chairs

Not all Chairs have an email address and some use the local Safeguarding Board or Unit’s address. All of the details that are publicly available are listed here. You can contact the LSCB Business Manager/Officer for more information.

 

Bolton

Mike Tarver c/o Bolton Safeguarding Email: boltonsafeguardingchildren@bolton.gov.uk Telephone: 01204337479

Bury

Sharon Beattie c/o BurySafeguarding 18-20 St Mary’s Place, Bury. BL9 0DZ Email: donna.green@bury.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 253 6153

Manchester

David Ashcroft c/o Manchester LSCB Directorate Children & Families, Manchester City Council, Floor 4 Town Hall Extension, Albert Square, P.O. Box 532, Manchester. M60 2LA Telephone: 0161 234 3330 / 0161 234 1505

Oldham

Henri Giller c/o Oldham Safeguarding Unit 10 Whitney Court, Southlink Business Park, Oldham. OL4 1DB Email: olscb@oldham.gov.uk

Rochdale

Jane Booth c/o Rochdale Safeguarding Town Head Offices, John Street, Rochdale. OL16 1LB Telephone: 0845 226 5500

Salford

Simon Westwood c/o Salford Safeguarding Sutherland House, 303 Chorley Road, Swinton. M27 6AY Email: simon.westwood@salford.gov.uk

Stockport

Gill Frame c/o Stockport Safeguarding Sanderling Building, Bird Hall Lane, Stockport. SK3 0RF Email: cpu@stockport.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 474 5657 / 8 / 9

Tameside

David Niven c/o Tameside Safeguarding Union Street Building, Union Street, Hyde. SK14 4ND Email: david.niven@tameside.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 342 4348

Trafford

Bob Postlethwaite c/o Trafford Safeguarding Email: TSCB@trafford.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 912 1901

Wigan

Kath Nelson c/o Wigan Safeguarding People Directorate, Wigan Council, PO Box 100. WN1 3DS Email: wscb@wigan.gov.uk Telephone: 01942 486 025

LSCB Business Managers / Officers

Business Managers are a useful first point of contact for the LSCB and are responsible in general for Board development, performance and organisation. The role may vary in different areas.

 

Bolton

Shona Green Email: shona.green@bolton.gov.uk

Bury

Donna Green Email: donna.green@bury.gov.uk

Manchester

Munaf Patel Email: m.patel@manchester.gov.uk

Oldham

Sue Harrison Email: susan.harrison@oldham.gov.uk

Rochdale

Tony Philbin Email: tony.philbin@rochdale.gov.uk

Salford

Interim BM – Tiffany Slack Email: tiffany.slack@salford.gov.uk

Stockport

Una Hagan Email: una.hagan@stockport.gov.uk

Tameside

Stewart Tod Email: stewart.tod@tameside.gov.uk

Trafford

Catherine Fleming Email: catherine.fleming@trafford.gov.uk

Wigan

Rick Bolton Email: r.bolton@wigan.gsi.gov.uk

LA Safeguarding Leads
Bolton

Christine Callaghan – Head of Service, Child Protection and Leaving Care Bolton Children’s Services Endeavour House, Watersmeeting Road, Bolton. BL1 8SW Email: christine.callaghan@bolton.gov.uk Website: http://boltonsafeguardingchildren.org.uk/ Telephone: 01204337470

Bury

Melanie Pitt, Head of Safeguarding Children Unit 18-20 St Mary’s Place, Bury. BL9 0DZ Email: m.pitt@bury.gov.uk Website: http://www.bury.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=5103 Telephone: 0161 253 5362 Fax: 0161 253 7601

Manchester

Linda Evans – Head of Quality Assurance for Safeguarding Directorate for Children and Families Manchester City Council, Town Hall Extension, PO Box 532, Manchester. M60 2LA Email: l.evans1@manchester.gov.uk Website: http://www.manchesterscb.org.uk Telephone: 0161 234 4960 Secretary: Charlotte Wilson 0161 234 4994

Oldham

Caroline McKenna, Interim Head of Safeguarding Children & Vulnerable Adults c/o Local Safeguarding Children Board Rock Street Centre, Rock Street, Oldham. OL1 3UJ Email: caroline.mckenna@oldham.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 770 8096 / 5068

Rochdale

Judith Brown, Safeguarding Children Unit Number One Riverside, Smith Street, Rochdale. OL16 1XU Email: judith.brown@rochdale.gov.uk Website: https://www.rbscb.org/ Telephone: 0845 226 5500

Salford

Emma Ford, Head of Service Safeguarding Unit Sutherland House, Chorley Road, Swinton. M27 6AY Email: emma.y.ford@salford.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 603 4350

Stockport

Jane Connolly – Head of Service Safeguarding Unit Sanderling Building, Bird Hall Lane, Stockport. SK3 0RF Email: jane.connolly@stockport.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 474 565 7 / 8 / 9

Tameside

Lorna Schlechte – Head of Children’s Safeguarding Specialist Services and Safeguarding Union Street Building, Union Street, Hyde. SK14 1ND Email: lorna.schlechte@tameside.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 342 3345

Trafford

Catherine Fleming – Safeguarding Team Manager Children & Young People’s Service 2nd Floor Quay West, Trafford Wharf Road, Trafford Park. M17 1HH Email: catherine.fleming@trafford.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 912 4286

Wigan

c/o Jayne Ivory, Wigan Life Centre, PO Box 100, Wigan, WN1 3DS  Email: Jayne.ivory@wigan.gov.uk  Telephone: 01942 486025

Safeguarding in Schools Leads
Local Authorities often have arrangements where at least one member of staff has some responsibility for advising or supporting schools to ensure their safeguarding practice is up to date and of the highest standards. These positions sit within the Local Authority but can be within various teams and work in partnership with other agencies that come into contact with early years, school or college children. Many will also support Pupil Referral Units (PRU) and other establishments which work with children in an educational setting, both private and Local Authority maintained. See below for details of a contact in those LA areas that have an identified member of staff.

Bolton

Jacqui Parkinson & Natalie France Email: jacqueline.parkinson@bolton.gov.uk and natalie.france@bolton.gov.uk

Bury

c/o Donna Green Email: donna.green@bury.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 2537329

Manchester

Jenny Patterson Email: j.patterson@manchester.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 234 7482

Oldham

David Devane Email: david.devane@oldham.gov.uk

Rochdale

Jude Crabtree Email: jude.crabtree@rochdale.gov.uk

Salford

Victoris Ross Email: victoria.ross@salford.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 778 0176

Stockport

Julia Storey Email: julia.storey@stockport.gov.uk Telephone: 0161 474 5958

Tameside

Tania Brown Email: tania.brown@tameside.gov.uk

Trafford

Jonathan King Email: jonathan.king@trafford.gov.uk

Wigan

c/o Wigan Safeguarding Children Board – Email: wscb@wigan.gov.uk

Social Care Duty and Investigation Teams
The Social Care Duty and Investigation Teams (often called Referral and Assessment Teams or similar) are the first point of call to social care and children’s services about new and potential concerns. You can find your local contact details if you wish to discuss a potential concern or new case. These numbers are for members of the public as well as professionals. If your query regards an open case and you have contact details for the allocated social worker, you can try them first. Some duty teams will also give you advice on what to do if the issue is not appropriate for Social Care to become involved but there are other teams and services who might be able to support the family/child. You can contact your local Family Information Service, speak to a local professional or look on the council’s and other useful websites. Out of office hours you should contact the local Out of Hours Duty Officer. If at any time you have an urgent concern for a child’s safety, call the Police by dialing 999.
Local Authority Designated Officers

LADO contact details on GM SCB Procedures

Bolton: Paula Williams Telephone: 01204 337 474. Email: boltonsafeguardingchildren@bolton.gov.uk Bury: Mark Gay Telephone: 0161 253 5582 or 0161 253 5342. Email: m.gay@bury.gov.uk Manchester: Majella O’Hagan Telephone: 0161 234 1214. Email: majella.ohagan@manchester.gov.uk Oldham: Colette Morris Telephone: 0161 770 8870. Email: colette.morris@oldham.gov.uk Rochdale: Gill Parnell-Jackson Telephone: 0300 3030 350. Email: lado@rochdale.gov.uk Salford: Roisin Rafferty and Patsy Molloy Telephone: 0161 603 4350 or 0161 603 4445. Email roisin.rafferty@salford.gov.uk or patsy.molloy@salford.gov.uk Stockport: Ged Sweeney Telephone: 0161 474 5657. Email: ged.sweeney@stockport.gov.uk Tameside: Tania Brown Telephone: 0161 342 4398. Email: tania.brown@tameside.gov.uk Trafford: Anita Hopkins Telephone: 0161 912 5024. Email: anita.hopkins@trafford.gov.uk Wigan: Steve Westhead Telephone: 01942 486 034. Email: lado@wigan.gcsx.gov.uk

Social Care Emergency Duty Teams
If you have an urgent query or concern about a child outside of normal working hours (such as during evenings, weekends or bank holidays), you should contact the Emergency Duty Team for the area where the child lives or is currently staying, if this is different. For more information about the out of hours contact details for each authority area, visit the GMSP Contact page. In an emergency where there is a risk of harm to the child or any person, call the Police by dialling 999.
Family Information Services
The Family Information Services (FIS) provide a range of information, events, activities and services which are available to parents in order to help them support their children up to their 20th birthday, or 25th if the child has a disability. Calls and information are free. Sometimes these teams are based within the Local Authority but some are commissioned services from local charities and groups.

Bolton

Families Information Service Email: families@bolton.gov.uk Website: http://www.bolton.gov.uk/ Telephone: 01204 332 170

Bury

Bury Children and Young People’s Information Service Email: childinfo@bury.gov.uk Website: http://www.bury.gov.uk Telephone: 0800 731 4611

Manchester

Manchester Family Information Service Email: fisinfo@manchester.gov.uk Website: http://manchester.fsd.org.uk/ Telephone: 0800 083 7921

Oldham

Oldham Family Information Service Email: familyinfo@oldham.gov.uk Website: http://www.ouroldham.info Telephone: 0800 731 1518

Rochdale

Rochdale Family Information Service Email: family.info@rochdale.gov.uk Website: http://www.rochdale.gov.uk Telephone: 01706 719900

Salford

Salford Family Information Service Email: fis@salford.gov.uk Website: http://www.0-19insalford.info Telephone: 0800 195 5565

Stockport

Family Info Link Email: info@familyinfolink.co.uk Website: http://www.familyinfolink.co.uk Telephone: 0808 800 0606

Tameside

Tameside Family Information Service Email: childrensinfo@tameside.gov.uk Website: http://www.tameside-sid.org.uk Telephone: 0161 342 5434

Trafford

Trafford Family Information Service Email: fis@trafford.gov.uk Website: http://trafford.childrensservicedirectory.org.uk Telephone: 0161 912 1053

Wigan

Wigan Family Information Service Email: fis@wigan.gov.uk Website: http://www.wigan.gov.uk Telephone: 01942 486960

Are you concerned about a child's welfare?

In an emergency call 999. Otherwise, contact your local Council.
Get in Touch

Are you a child or young person and want to talk to someone?

You can call Childline for free on 0800 1111 to talk about anything.
Contact Childline